Customer Reviews of Anna's Guided Tours in Ghent and Bruges

 

Here you can read what travelers think of my guided tours, and write your own review using the form below.

DUS2021, December 2019 (the review was published on Tripadvisor)
Fantastic guide!
Anna really loves her city - and it shows! Gave lots of very interesting information, also things you don't find in every travel book. Helped with restaurant recommendations as well as all kind of useful information she sent around afterwards. Highly recommended!

 

Westhoek8920, November 2019 (the review was published on Tripadvisor)
Het lam gods alsof je er bij was
In de vrieskou konden we ons verwarmen aan de erudiete kennis en fijne humor van gids Anna. Ze nam ons mee op tocht langs bekende en minder bekende hoekjes in Gent en we zagen voor onze ogen het lam gods tot stand komen.
Nu dat laatste paneel nog terug vinden...


Patjes26, November 2019 (the review was published on Tripadvisor)
Verken Gent met deze zeer gepassioneerde gids.
Gids Anna leidt je op een zeer geboeide manier doorheen Gent. Met een groep vrienden werden we ingedompeld in de geschiedenis van het Lam Gods. Anna wist ons te boeien van de eerste tot de laatste minuut. Haar deskundige uitleg heeft ons Gent laten zien zoals we Gent nog niet kenden. Een heel interactieve gids met een leuke wedstrijd tijdens de wandeling. Wie Gent en het Lams Gods wil ontdekken , moet gids Anna boeken. 2020 is bovendien het Van Eyck jaar.

 

KimLaeremans, November 2019 (the review was published on Tripadvisor)
Ongelooflijk fijne reis door Het Lam Gents
Google Translation
Met collega's bezochten we Gent en hadden wij het geluk om door Anna begeleid te worden. Hoe bijzonder zij het verhaal van het Lam Gods en de mensen er rond wist te brengen. Heel fijn om de stad te verkennen met iemand die er zo gepassioneerd en fier over kan vertellen. Wij hingen aan je lippen!
 

pukkie76, November 2019 (the review was published on Tripadvisor)
wonderful guide
We booked the Van Eyck tour through Gent for a fieldtrip with work, which lasted 3 hours but felt like a lot less! Anna is enthusiastic, has a great sense of humour and kept entertaining us with all kind of info on Gent and Van Eyck, as we say in Dutch 'we hingen aan haar lippen'. Despite lasting 3 hours, the tour never got boring and I learned a lot myself about the city I've been living in for 25 years. I can only recommend her!

 

Elverding13, Kastraki, Greece, November 2019 (the review was published on Tripadvisor)
Unieke benadering van de stad Gent
Anna heeft onze groep van 22 sportvrienden excellent begeleid in onze tocht doorheen Gent. Vanuit het perspectief van het Lam Gods (het onstaan, de opdrachtgevers en de avonturen van het werk) kregen we een mooi beeld van Gent. Alles werd vlot en boeiend verteld en de complete groep was een en al oor. Grote aanrader, zelfs als je denkt Gent reeds te kennen.

 

Travelerreadily, NYC, November 2019 (the review was published on Tripadvisor)
The absolute hightlight of our trip to Belgium
My wife and I took the three hour tour of Ghent with Anna, and we both agree that it was the absolute highlight of our trip to Belgium. Since we loved much about Belgium, that is high praise indeed. We were particularly interested in history, art and architecture. We learned about all three and much more. Extraordinarily knowledgable, and remarkably personable, I can't provide sufficient praise. What a great experience.

 

CAROLUSCLASSIC, September 2019 (the review was published on Tripadvisor)
"the" Best guide !!
Review of Guide in Ghent Anna Mochtchevitina
Reviewed today
We're two Belgian citizens and booked the English spoken Ghent Highlights tour, because we had a Californian couple visiting us here in Belgium.
We had so a great time with Anna, our friends couldn't stop talking about her even the next morning. She so friendly, and knows everything about Ghent. She is so knowledgeable that even questions, that were not part of the tour, were answered with no hesitations. Fabulous ! Thank You Anna ... Thumbs Up!

 

Diedas, Kaunas, Lithuania, August 2019 (the review was published on Tripadvisor)
Perfect guide
Anna - the best guide we have ever had. Her knowledge was astonishing. You could ask about any house on the route and she would tell you a story about it. Three hours with Anna lasted like a few minutes.
And after tour she sent us an email with a lot of interesting links about Ghent and festivals in it.

 

WinslowFamily, San Diego, California, May 2019 (the review was published on Tripadvisor)
Ghent and Bruges Tours
We were truly blessed to have Anna as our tour guide in Bruges and Ghent. She has a magical way of taking you into, through and beyond the history of these ancient cities. As she placed the wool in my hands, she explained how it was used to create the cloth which was stored inside of the Textile Houses and later transported via waterways to other countries, making this area the richest in the world. She used visual aids to show us the original appearance of statues and buildings. We sampled raw coco while learning about chocolate making, held a 24 carat diamond while learning about the diamond industry and much more. Anna is engaging and made each fun day exceed our expectations by far. She was also sensitive to my walking pace making certain that we were comfortable before she explained about a monument, painting, artifact or event. Another surprise was our Ghent noose wearers souvenir and the informative email with links to learn more about her lovely country, the art, lace making etc. Our unforgettable Netherlands trip was over the top because of Anna! Quite possible the best guide in the world!
 

Karley B, May 2019 (the review was published on Tripadvisor)
Great Guide
Anna is the expert of Belgium! She is very knowledgeable and such a joy to be around. 12/10 recommend.


PeterBouten2209, Merselo, Limburg, Netherlands, May 2019 (the review was published on Tripadvisor)
Een thema-tour vol passie
Met een vriendengroep van 10 mannen hebben we de Lam Gods - tour gedaan. Op een bevlogen en heel interactieve manier vertelt Anna tijdens de rondleiding de hele geschiedenis en allerlei wetenswaardigheden rondom dit kunstwerk. Zelden zo'n vrolijke en enthousiaste gids meegemaakt.

 

dpower-dc, Washington, DC, May 2019 (the review was published on Tripadvisor)
Wonderful Guide in Ghent
Anna was a terrific guide. She was interesting and informative, and tailored her presentation to our particular interests. We can’t recommend her highly enough.

 

Stakkev, March 2019 (the review was published on Tripadvisor)
Erg leervolle en leuke ervaring.
Met vriendengroep een tocht van drie uur.
Erg leerzame en leuke ervaring. De uitleg was helder en interactief.
Aanrader voor een erg goede stadsgids.


bert p, March 2019 (the review was published on Tripadvisor)
Great tour in Ghent / Gent
Hi guys, if you're looking for a great guide for Ghent, Anna's your partner. We had a lovely, very interesting 3 hours in her company. She's a real pro!!
En voor de Vlaamse touristen die Gent eens beter willen leren kennen, Anna is dan wel een Russische, haar Nederlands is meer dan perfect.

 

Rob, December 2018 (the review was published on Tripadvisor)
Zeer goed!
Op basis van de Tripadvisor reviews hadden we een drie uur durende Tour bij Anna geboekt. Het was een groot succes! Anna vertelde over van alles en nog wat en wist dit op een dermate leuke manier te doen dat onze kinderen (16,18 en 20) het ook zeer hebben gewaardeerd. Wanneer we een volgende keer naar Gent gaan, hopen we ook daar een rondleiding door Anna te krijgen. Van harte aanbevolen!!

 

Gregory C, Draper, Utah, October 2018 (the review was published on Tripadvisor)
Tour in Ghent and Brugges
We had a small group and spent two days, one in Brugges and one in Ghent. Anna was captivating and engaging during the two days. We are so fortunate to have found her as a true hidden gem. The larger tours seemed rushed and not interested in the individual's experience. Everything in our tour with Anna was perfectly paced, and crafted to our interests. She also directed us on things to visit after our tour. All of her food and museum recommendations were stellar. This was an excellent experience.


toetmozef7, Ghent, Belgium, September 2018 (the review was published on Tripadvisor)
INSPIREREND GENT
de historische rondleiding in het gentse kerngedeelte gecombineerd met het lam gods 
retoriek werd hier door anna met een heel aparte interpretatie naarvoren gebracht wars van de klassieke manier van gidsen met een eindelose opsomming van feiten en data
spannend gebracht a la dan brown met een luchtige toets voor herhaling aanbevolen

 

Alexis (tripreviewer223), New York City, New York, August 2018 (the review was published on Tripadvisor)
Outstanding tours of Ghent and Bruges
Anna is an engaging and extremely knowledgeable guide.
We did a 3 hour walking tour of Ghent and 3.5 hour walking tour of Bruges. 
For Ghent, Anna customized our tour to combine our interest in the history behind the Ghent Altarpiece with our curiosity about the city and its development. 
Anna has a gift for explaining concepts such as history, art history, architecture, and folklore in a way that makes the information digestible and possible to retain after the tour ends. She is also knowledgeable about current city trends and developments. 
She made efficient use of our time and not a second was wasted. After our tour, Anna provided a customized map of dining recommendations and places to visit on our own time.
In summary, we highly recommend Anna!

 

IrinaL1234, August 2018 (the review was published on Tripadvisor)
Bruges and Ghent with Anna
Anna is an excellent tour guide. We are family of four and have 2 children age 16 and 11. Anna made her tours very interesting and interactive. She managed to keep kids attention for the whole time of the tours. She s very knowledgeable. If you planning to visit Bruges and Ghent Anna is your tour guide. Thank you Anna .

 

MicahGoulart, August 2018 (the review was published on Tripadvisor)
Bruges comes alive with Anna!
If you're going to Bruges or Ghent, you probably invested a lot of time and money to get there, right? So why just wander aimlessly around town looking at buildings when instead you can really make the trip worth the time by having Anna guide you through the city, laying out the history behind what you're seeing and making it come alive with fascinating stories of Bruges' past and how it has led to what you see in front of you today. 
This was one of the highlights of our trip to Belgium and well worth every penny. We even did a 3 hour tour with our 3 kids under 11 and they all enjoyed it. Anna was attentive and worked hard to keep their interest, which is not an easy task! We'll be returning to check out Ghent in the future and we'll definitely book Anna again if she's available.

2018Barbara, Redlands, California, June 2018 (the review was published on Tripadvisor)

Great Guide

Our guide was able to answer all our questions. She peppered her remarks with many historical references and funny stories about the people who built the buildings.

 

Evelyne V, June 2018 (the review was published on Tripadvisor)
Het Lam Gents
We werden met Anna meegenomen in het mysterie van het Lam Gods tijdens een stadswandeling doorheen Gent. Vol passie en toewijding nam ze ons mee in het romantische verhaal alsof we teruggingen in de tijd en deel uitmaakten van een spannend boek met geregeld een vleugje humor. Het verhaal was zo logisch opgebouwd dat je het zonder probleem kan inbeelden en herbeleven. 
Super gedaan Anna! Je doet het zo goed, je bent zo vlot, je hebt ons zo doen lachen en daarenboven maak je het ook interactief. Niet enkel wij moeten luisteren, je laat ons meedenken, je neemt ons mee op pad en in het verhaal. Een echte aanrader, ook voor mensen die niet echt fan zijn van geschiedenis is het heel boeiend. We zien elkaar zeker nog eens terug, mss eens in het mooie Brugge!

 

Ann D, Eke-Nazareth, June 2018 (the review was published on Tripadvisor)
Als passie & kennis samenkomen
Onze gids verdient een ultramarijne pluim ! Iedereen die de Lam Gods wandeling met Anna zal meewandelen, zal direct begrijpen wat ik bedoel. 
Anna weet niet enkel alles wat er moet geweten zijn over dit wereldberoemde schilderij & zijn fantastische schilders, maar brengt je op een ludieke manier ook terug in de tijd, toen het schilderij werd gemaakt. Het schilderij zelf, krijg je nooit te zien, behalve op de uitgebreide docu die Anna met zich meebrengt, maar dit is ook niet nodig. Zeer aangename manier om Gent te voet te ontdekken & ondertussen op een speelse manier toch veel te leren. De passie & enthousiasme waarmee Anna je hierbij zal begeleiden, doet je alleen maar verlangen om ook Brugge met Anna te gaan verkennen.


Lolalola2, Toronto, Canada, May 2018 (the review was published on Tripadvisor)
Bruges and ghent
Wonderful guide!!
Walking tours of Bruges and Ghent were full of art and history
Anna is such a delight, knowledgeable and very professional 
We were inundated with art and history information 
You can tell she loves and enjoys being a guide
I would highly recommend her
Thanks again Anna from Paul doreen and tony diane


lgand21, Puerto Rico, May 2018 (the review was published on Tripadvisor)
Excellent guide
We did a tour of Ghent and Brugge with Ana. She was very knowledgeable and provide us with historic information of both places. The places we visited with her were wonderful. She provide you with facts that you would not get lost. She was always on time and accommodates your preferences for the tour. She gave us a lot of tips to later use on both cities. Overall we really like it and definitely recommend her for anyone who would like to know well both cities. It was fun to have Ana as our tour guide for Ghent and Brugge.
5 starts for ANA.


Neil J, Moscow, Russia, May 2018 (the review was published on Tripadvisor)
Wonderful time in Brugge!
Had a simply wonderful time walking around Brugge with Anna. We had so much fun that time seemed to just fly by as we went from one attraction to the next. Anna's energetic and enthusiastic storytelling and knowledge of Brugge history really made the excursion worthwhile. If you are going to be in Brugge, sign up for a walking tour with Anna. You will thank me. ;-)

Anna_S_20180424, San Francisco, California, April 2018 (the review was published on Tripadvisor)
Trip to Belgium made very memorable by Anna.
My husband and I were in Belgium for a week in April. 
We first approached Anna to be our tour guide in Bruges and Ghent but she turned out to be so much more. 
Once she learned that we have quite a few days to spend in Belgium, Anna pretty much planned every single one of them. Places to visit, driving directions (we did have a car), all came in a very organized spreadsheet, with links to google maps, which we would open every night to see where we were going the next day. 
Without her advice we would not have visited so many beautiful places: Hallerbos, Royal Greenhouse in Laeken, Groot Bijgaarden and more.
And those walking tours in Bruges and Ghent were very informative and incredibly interesting and memorable because Anna engages you in a dialog, makes you think and not just listen. You don't get an art-history lesson but are participating in a discussion about it with a very knowledgeable and intelligent person. 
We liked her so much that we asked to be our guide in Brussels as well. Unfortunately, she was fully booked, but she took time to find another guide for us. 
If you are looking for a tour guide who is knowledgeable, professional and loves what she does, you won't find anyone better than Anna.
 

David R, April 2018 (the review was published on Tripadvisor)
Anna surpassed her goal...
... for us to feel the same love and excitement for Flanders that she does. It's a wonderful city with a fascinating history- Anna's encyclopedic knowledge and enthusiasm made our afternoon with her a highlight.

Валерия Л, April 2018 (the review was published on Tripadvisor )
Perfect Brugge Trip
We are so very very very thankful to Anna for a brilliant excursion! It was our first visit to Belgium and we had 3-hour walking tour around Brugge.
During these 3 hours we get acquainted with the history of city and hole country! Anna told us so much interesting, unusual, breathtaking, nice and funny facts and stories! Thank you so much! We even didn’t get tired because of interesting tales (and dialogues - Anna is so genial and friendly companion:)) and very beautiful routes and places we visited.
Anna showed us the most interesting sightseeing’s, answered all our questions, laughed with us, showed best shops and gave us a lot of additional information!
We thank her so much!!
Lera& Co


Andrei535, London, United Kingdom, April 2018 (the review was published on Tripadvisor)
Fantastic Tour Guide
Thanks to Anna our small international group, including the little ones, were enchanted by Bruges and it's history. Anna has a wealth of historical knowledge about Belgium and is great at engaging the audience of all ages. If we could book her for 10 hours we would!


Pam S, April 2018 (the review was published on Tripadvisor)
Anna in Ghent is the Best!
Anna, gave us a wonderful in depth Ghent Altarpiece tour when we were in Ghent on Easter Sunday on a river cruise. We had a free afternoon, and we were very fortunate to book her at the last minute. She is pleasant to be with and very knowledgeable. We highly recommend her when you are in Ghent.


Edward K, Chicago, IL, March 2018 (the review was published on Tripadvisor)
Bruges walking excursion guide
Our family with two small kids (10 and 8) had a pleasure to meet a greate guide Anna. 
She was very knowledgeable and easy to deal with. 
Kids, surprisingly loved her easy way of presenting the history of the city. Her English was very easy to understand and well spoken. The Three hours that we spent with her was a highlight of our visit.
Chicago, IL


Virginia G, March 2018 (the review was published on Tripadvisor)
When in Bruges....
We are a family of four, who has chosen Anna as our English speaking guide for Bruges. Our experience can be summed up in one word: Amazing! Anna is a very pleasant person and extremely knowledgeable and passionate guide. She presented all the material in such interested way, that 3 hours felt just like 20 minutes. We had a great pleasure learning the history of Belgium while exploring medieval bell tower and other beautiful historic buildings during our walk with Anna in the historic center of Bruges. In addition, she tippet us about some great restaurants, making our mini-vacation in this medieval town truly special. Our kids (6 and almost 3 y.o. ) just loved her. We will definitely contact Anna when we go to Ghent! We would like to give Anna our highest recommendations. 
Thank you, Anna, Andersen will definetly see you later! 
Kind regards, Per Christian, Virginia and the girls!


Levan T, February 2018 (the review was published on Tripadvisor)
Ghent experience
We had a lovely Ghent walking tour with Anna. Anna is a very pleasant person to interact with. With her, there is no need in breaking ice, from the first moment of the conversation, it feels like you are talking to a friend. Anna’s knowledge of the city and its history is impressive. You realize that when after having visited all the impressive squares and cathedrals you find yourself walking through inconspicuous alleys, and even bars, hearing all about remarkable events, that took place throughout the history of this truly beautiful city Anna doesn’t just mention all the dates and facts, she also has a dialogue with you. She neatly places the facts of town history into the wider perspective of the history of the region and the whole Western Europe. Our tour with Anna was a delight and I would highly recommend her to anyone who wishes to get the most out of their Ghent experience.


Maria T, The Hague, The Netherlands, February 2018 (the review was published on Tripadvisor)
Ghent tour with Anna
Anna gave us great Ghent experience, leading us through historical places, and spots tourists would normally just pass by. Her knowledge of history, art and architecture is absolutely impressive, as well as the manner of presenting historical facts is captivating. When she guides you through the city, she doesn’t just overwhelm you with loads of dates and events, she challenges your own memory and intuition by questioning you about historical events, making you a part of an exciting conversation. We loved every minute spent with Anna in Ghent, and we’ll surely get back very shortly.

_katrien_verschueren, Ghent, Belgium, December 2017 (the review was published on Tripadvisor)
Gigantische bron aan informatie en super grappig!
Anna, de gevolgde geleide wandeling was super. Jij weet altijd zo veel te vertellen en je gevoel voor humor is schitterend. Ik geniet altijd zo van al je weetjes en de mooi uitgewerkte wandelingen. Ik hou enorm veel van de Gentse stad en een parcours samen met jou als gids maken de ervaringen nog fijner. Gewoon ten volle genieten van onze prachtige stad! Dankjewel. Katrien
 

Gala D, July 2017 (the review was published on Tripadvisor)
M et Mme Kragen
C'était un excellent voyage à Brugge grâce à notre guide Anna! Un véritable découvert d'histoire de la ville. Bravo Anna !

ustraveller374, San Francisco, California, July 2016 (the review was published on Tripadvisor)

Wonderful tour of Ghent with Anna
Anna is absolutely amazing. She worked with our limited schedule and made the 4 hour tour of Ghent an unforgettable experience. The city of Ghent was celebrating their annual Music festival and the center was completely packed with various performance stages, open space seating areas and people, people, people. The weather was hot as well and Anna adjusted the tour on the fly for us to make sure we see as many historical buildings and focus on the interior more (so we can stay more inside spacious and beautiful churches). It allowed us to really get close to the history and customs related to each building and not just admire the architecture. She did the entire tour in absolutely fluent English and captivated our attention for the entire time. I heard her switching to Flemish/ Dutch, French and Russian on our tour as she interacted with others we met or spoke to. She introduced us to interesting city stories, famous family relationships, old traditions, heritage specifics, discussions on the meaning of paintings and other attributes, I can continue the list... I've been to Ghent before, however the time with Anna made me love and admire this city and their traditions even more.


Eyebolit, Melbourne, July 2016 (the review was published on Tripadvisor
Magical Belgian Tour with Anna
Thank you Anna for such a brilliant tour of Belgium! You managed to show us and teach us so much in so little time! You kept everyone (from young to old) entertained, involved, and interested! Your English, Russian, and French language skills are superb! Your kind and caring nature shines through and has made our experience unforgettable!!;))) Thank you so much!

 

© 2018-2019 Anna Mochtchevitina All rights reserved |  VAT Number 0886 204 074 |  Privacy Policy